RAIC 2023 awards winners: Patkau Architects, Limberlost Place, and more

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) has announced its slate of recipients for their annual awards of 2023.

The first installment of the awards since the addition of the three reworked awards of excellence, the RAIC annual award recipients consist of architectural practices, projects and initiatives that illustrate the dynamic environment of Canadian architecture today.

This year’s recipients are as follows:

 RAIC gold medal
The late Claude Provencher, FRAIC, Quebec.

Architectural practice award
Patkau Architects, Vancouver, British Columbia.

Emerging architectural practice award
Studio of Contemporary Architecture (SOCA), Toronto, Ontario.
Fathom Studio, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia.

RAIC advocate for architecture award
Carol Belanger.

RAIC research and innovation award
Limberlost Place—Innovation through mass timber construction and prefabricated envelope system, Moriyama Teshima Architects / Acton Ostry Architect Inc. in collaboration.

RAIC architectural journalism and media award
Ruovttu Guvlui / Towards Home exhibition, Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA) main gallery exhibition.
Dalhousie Architectural Press.

Jury members for the 2023 RAIC gold medal, the architectural practice award, and the emerging architectural practice awards were:

  • Stephan Chevalier, MIRAC, co-founder, Chevalier Morales.
  • Juan Du, dean, University of Toronto’s John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design.
  • Francine Houben, Hon. FRAIC, founding Partner and creative director, Mecanoo.
  • Bruce Kuwabara, FRAIC, jury chair, founding partner, KPMB Architects.
  • Michael Leckie, MRAIC, founder, Leckie Studio Architecture + Design.
  • Janna Levitt, FRAIC, co-founder, LGA Architectural Partners (formerly Levitt Goodman Architects).

Jury members for the 2023 RAIC advocate for architecture award, research and innovation award, and the architectural journalism and media awards were:

  • Brent Bellamy, FRAIC, architect and creative director, Number TEN Architectural Group.
  • Charles-Mathieu Brunelle, assistant city manager, Ville de Montréal.
  • Michael Green, FRAIC, founder, Michael Green Architecture (MGA).
  • Jenn McArthur, associate professor, department of architectural science at Toronto Metropolitan University.
  • Shallyn Murray, MRAIC, co-founder, Nine Yards Studio.
  • Betsy Williamson, FRAIC, jury chair, principal, Williamson Williamson Architects Inc.

Sign up to receive the best Underground art & real estate news in your inbox everyday.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

This post was originally published on this site