Solana Labs’ ChatGPT plugin allows AI to fetch blockchain data
The plugin will allow the AI chatbot to check wallet balances, transfer tokens and purchase NFTs when OpenAI makes plugins more widely available.
Own this piece of history
Collect this article as an NFT
Join us on social networks
Solana (SOL) users will soon be able to interact with the network through an open-source plugin enabled on OpenAI’s artificial intelligence (AI) chatbot, ChatGPT.
The plugin will allow ChatGPT to check wallet balances, transfer Solana-native tokens and purchase nonfungible tokens when OpenAI makes plugins available, according to an April 25 tweet by Solana Labs, the development firm behind the Solana blockchain.
Solana Labs is also encouraging developers to test using the open-source code to retrieve on-chain data that they may be interested in.
(1/2) Solana Labs has created an open-source reference implementation for a ChatGPT plugin that lets users interact with the @solana network directly from ChatGPT.
Users will be able to check wallet balances, transfer tokens, and purchase NFTs once ChatGPT plugins are available. pic.twitter.com/08z1IX76zJ
The screenshot shared by Solana Labs shows that ChatGPT can retrieve a list of NFTs owned by a particular Solana address, which shares an attached metadata link to the NFT — presumably sourced from Solana Labs’ block explorer.
Solana Labs did not mention whether the plugin would be launched when OpenAI makes the plugin feature available to all.
On the same day, OpenAI announced ChatGPT users can now “turn off” their chat history, thanks to a new privacy feature.
The team announced the rollout of the new feature in an April 25 statement, which was launched to provide users with more control over their data. The firm added:
“Conversations that are started when chat history is disabled won’t be used to train and improve our models, and won’t appear in the history sidebar.”
The feature can be found in ChatGPT’s settings, which can be changed at any time, OpenAI said.
OpenAI explained that deleted conversations will be retained for 30 days for the purposes of reviewing them to monitor abusive material. Once that is cleared, conversations will be permanently deleted.